Welcome to Club Hot Rod!  The premier site for everything to do with Hot Rod, Customs, Low Riders, Rat Rods, and more. 

•  » Members from all over the US and the world!
  •  » Help from all over the world for your questions
  •  » Build logs for you and all members
  •  » Blogs
  •  » Image Gallery
  •  » Many thousands of members and hundreds of thousands of posts! 

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!  p.s.: For registered members this ad will NOT show

Thread: do your own interior

Reply To Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
    41willys is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery
    Car Year, Make, Model: 41 willys coupe

do your own interior

I am not a professional upholsterer by any stretch of the imagination. But I did stay in a Holiday Inn Express one night 30 years ago.
    that being said I have been doing my own interior panel for years. I make the moulding forms out of sheetmetal, plywood or fiberglass then cover them.
    I do not own a sewing machine but the only thing I have to farm out is the seats.

On Shirley's mustang we decided to change the entire interior so all of the current panels became obsolete. The following pictures show how simple it is to make the panel behind the seats.
    #1 shows what the new sheet metal bulhead looks like. We decided to make a panel that would cover the top of the deck from cage uprights and down the new section part between the seats.
    #2 shows how I used a piece of 1/4" plywood and cut it to fit the top. then I sawed kerfs 1/8" deep every 1/2" for the radius. I then screwed it to the bulkehead to make sure it fit .
    #3 I simply used some fiberglass body putty to fill in the kerfs so they would hold the shape.
    #4 I then pulled the panel off and used fiberglass cloth to reinforce the back so when I sanded the front smooth it would not loose it's shape.
    #5 shows the 1/4" closed cell foam used to make the inital padding.
    Attached Images