Welcome to Club Hot Rod!  The premier site for everything to do with Hot Rod, Customs, Low Riders, Rat Rods, and more. 

•  » Members from all over the US and the world!
  •  » Help from all over the world for your questions
  •  » Build logs for you and all members
  •  » Blogs
  •  » Image Gallery
  •  » Many thousands of members and hundreds of thousands of posts! 

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!  p.s.: For registered members this ad will NOT show

Thread: Putting Rebuilt 460 in 30 Foot Cruiser

Reply To Thread
    Pacifier is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery

Question Putting Rebuilt 460 in 30 Foot Cruiser

Hi All, I'm a newbie to this forum, though I've surfed it quite a bit and found that it is chuck full of knowledge. The reason I'm posting is that last fall my 30 ft. boat which had a 460 in it broke the top off a valve and destroyed the piston,rod, windage tray, and bent the oil pan and am not sure yet what else. I bought a rebuilt 460 from a guy that claims he is a master mech. I have not opened the motor to verify but he told me that he built it to the following specs, D9TE truck block bored .30 over and surface trued, D3VE heads milled and completely rebuilt using new rockers, pushrods, springs, guides, seals, etc., Crankshaft, rods, pistons, harmonic balancer, and flexplate are all balanced. 9.0:1 Hypereutectic pistons., New cam (not sure what brand or size) @ .50-.214/.224 Dur., .293/.303 Ad. Dur.,518/.544 Lift 1700-5200 RPM Range, New Cloyes double roller timing chain, New Melling high vol. oil pump, New Weiand Stealth high rise intake, Rods shot peened and magnafluxed, all new Fel-Pro gaskets, Clevite bearings, lifters, etc. I need to know if this cam will work in a marine application and any other info that would be of importance to me about putting this in my boat. I also need to find a pan and windage tray or modify my new panto accept the dipstick tub that screws into the drain bung for checking the oil level and p