Welcome to Club Hot Rod!  The premier site for everything to do with Hot Rod, Customs, Low Riders, Rat Rods, and more. 

•  » Members from all over the US and the world!
  •  » Help from all over the world for your questions
  •  » Build logs for you and all members
  •  » Blogs
  •  » Image Gallery
  •  » Many thousands of members and hundreds of thousands of posts! 

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!  p.s.: For registered members this ad will NOT show

Thread: Calling Paul Kane

Reply To Thread
    Slade429 is offline Registered User Visit my Photo Gallery

Calling Paul Kane

Paul, I'm new to CHR. I've noticed that you are very knowlegeable about Dove motors. I have a freshly built 429 Dove-A block, Dove-c heads with BBC Comp Magnum roller tip rockers, hardened pushrods and guideplates, stock valves, I'm running a basic RV style cam, a Performer RPM 460 Intake, a Holley 600 cfm carb, the bottom end is basically stock with flat tops and ARP hardware and has been balanced, and LandL Products full length headers with 2.5 pipes. I've got it in a 78 Bronco, 355 gear, C6, but not real happy with the way it runs.
    It always runs fine unless I hit it from a dead stop or slow roll, then it spits and sputters until I let off. If I drive it normal, like in traffic it does fine even on the highway. I've never been able to roast the tires and that's a shame. What's your take on this problem? Also I've got access to my buds machine shop, if it were your project what would you do to the motor?

shoprat is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery
    Car Year, Make, Model: 57 RANCHERO

I'm not Paul, but it sounds like that little Holley isn't gett'n enough squirt from
    the accel pump. I run a 600 dbl pump for the street and it works well.
    A Ranchero is NOT an El Camino

Paul Kane is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery
    Car Year, Make, Model: Southwind Jet Boat & Dimarco Hydro

Cool

Hello Slade,