Welcome to Club Hot Rod!  The premier site for everything to do with Hot Rod, Customs, Low Riders, Rat Rods, and more. 

•  » Members from all over the US and the world!
  •  » Help from all over the world for your questions
  •  » Build logs for you and all members
  •  » Blogs
  •  » Image Gallery
  •  » Many thousands of members and hundreds of thousands of posts! 

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!  p.s.: For registered members this ad will NOT show

Thread: 460-429

Reply To Thread
    FordManMike is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery
    Car Year, Make, Model: 1977 Ford Pickup

Smile 460-429

Hows it going everyone? Im new to this fourm and i have a 460 Block i would like to rebuild and make it in to a 429 to get some more rpms for racing. I race at pismo Dunes so its all sand for my truck and i was woundering what you guys thinking about me go with the 429 over the 460. my buddy had a 460 and a 429 and he says he recomends the 429 over the 460 build for race beacuse of the RPM'S. I would like your guys input in what i should do with the 460 block i knwo i dont want to stroke it so im staying with the 429 or 460. Im hoping you guys could point me out to a good website where they have kits to de-stroke my motor and point me out for a good build. The truck is going to be a weekend truck so im going to mob some dunes race and drive in on the weekdays here and there i was thiking some where around 500hp but like i said i willing he see what everyone has to say about it. Im sure this came up alot on this fourm but i really need help. one last thing my friend said the 429 is the same block as the 460 and i want to make sure if thats true.
    Thanks
    Mike

shoprat is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery
    Car Year, Make, Model: 57 RANCHERO

It,s the same, just stroke and pin height diff. I run a 429 and like it.
    I use the early 70 heads cam, intake, and headers andit runs quite good.