Welcome to Club Hot Rod!  The premier site for everything to do with Hot Rod, Customs, Low Riders, Rat Rods, and more. 

•  » Members from all over the US and the world!
  •  » Help from all over the world for your questions
  •  » Build logs for you and all members
  •  » Blogs
  •  » Image Gallery
  •  » Many thousands of members and hundreds of thousands of posts! 

YES! I want to register an account for free right now!  p.s.: For registered members this ad will NOT show

Thread: Need guidance... starting a hotrod

Reply To Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    BadTrip is offline CHR Member Visit my Photo Gallery

Smile Need guidance... starting a hotrod

Hi everyone! I have finally saved enough money to being work on something i’ve been saving for for two years... my own Toyota hot rod. Why Toyota? the reason is because I’ve always loved Toyota, they are very dependable and high quality, and because a Toyota hotrod is different! I’m new to building hot rods so this is all very new to me. I apologize in advance for my ignorance (but you gotta start somewhere!) From what i’ve gathered this is how its done (please correct me if i’m wrong!) I’m going for a very simple boxy straight angle design with this car. I already named it “badtrip” i’m thinking i’m going to go with a black car with a cool graphic on the side and a blue, green, or possible black light lighting the engine, the under body, and the interior of the car. So here is what i’m thinking...

First I get my engine/transmission, a 1UZ-FE (4.0L V8 ) out of a Lexus LS400. Clean and rebuild it, add supercharger. Rebuild the tranny to handle the power from the V8.

Then, I select my chassis, now this is up for debate but I think i’m going to go with a 92-97 paseo or tercel. It has a 93.7 inch wheelbase which should be perfect. I take the body off of the car and clean/repair the chassis.